Recount in Galway Sees Final TDs Elected for New Irish Governmant

Dail set for new representatives

Dail set for new representatives

The completion of a recount of the votes in Galway West Ireland, sees the final seats in the country’s 31st Dail filled.

Bryan Walsh and Sean Kyne of Fine Gael, Derek Nolan of Labour, Eamon `O Cuiv of Fianna Fail, and Noel Grealish have been confirmed as Galway West’s representatives.

The recount of Galway West took over 66 hours of counting over four days to confirm the election of the 165th and final TD Mr Kyne.

Kyne celebrated early this morning after news broke of his victory.

kyne, who is a Moycullen based agricultural consultant, was narrowly just 17 points ahead of his opponent Catherine Connolly after the first re-count. Kyne was ahead by the same amount of votes at at the end of the second re-count.

The result highlighted the best performance by Fianna Gael in the county of Galway for 20 years.

The representation of TDs in the 31st Dail will now be made up of: Fine Gael with 76 seats; Labour with 37; Fianna Fáil with 20; Independents with 15; Sinn Féin with 14, Green Party with no seats and Others with 4.

Leave your comment

  • (not published)